Baby in breech position w 3 weeks to go, scheduling C-section

regina1075

While I can be there for the surgery/birth, due to COVID I likely won’t be allowed in the postpartum room for the two days after while my wife recovers. My wife is pretty upset and a bit worried. I have assured her that it is not her (or anyone’s) fault and that our top priority is a healthy mom/baby post-procedure.

This is our first child, just looking for some good vibes. Much love

EDIT: thank you guys so much for your comments - really made us feel better and hopefully we can get through this with a healthy mom and baby. Will of course update the sub after our little guy graduates.

@regina1075 I'm a postpartum nurse and I have a couple tips- make sure that you use the time she's in the hospital to rest and get the house ready for her. When she gets home, bear in mind she will basically not have slept for two days straight and she'll need 150% of your attention- give her a rest and take care of that baby. If she's breastfeeding, making sure she always has water and her cell phone and pillows for positioning. And read through alllllll the information packets she comes home with. Postpartum nurses do a lot of education, but if you read the education pamphlets they usually send home you'll probably be caught up. And perhaps most importantly, look at her C section incision (and maybe take a picture) as soon as she gets home and every day after. She won't be able to see it very well, so you need to make sure it isn't getting infected. It should look ok when she gets home, so you'll have something to compare it to every day after that.

@fivfrujf This is great advice thank you so much! Seems like in NY these rules may be changing so hopefully I can stay in the hospital with her but if I can’t (or even after we get home) this is super helpful