Should I have a 4th child?

jonnobody

My husband (45) and I (40) have three kids ages 10, 6 and 2. IVF was needed for child 1 and 3 and we have left over frozen embryos (up to 3 viable ones, created when I was 28). I love being a mother. It’s the highlight of my life and all I’ve ever really wanted. (I’m also an attorney with a demanding job managing many people and practicing law, but it’s not like I feel as if all I’ve ever wanted is to be an attorney. It’s fine but not like being a mother.)

Time is on my side because I have viable frozen embryos. But I am very conflicted as to whether to have another child. Cons are mostly my health - I’ve had 3 csections, not looking forward to a forth, I’ve suggested surrogacy but not sure we could afford it or my husband would be on board. I take medication for a chronic condition that’s very under control right now and I would have to go off the medication to be pregnant which sucks worse than having a 4th csection. And I’m also concerned about being able to give my 3 children enough attention, particularly as I recently have a more demanding job. Husband also has a demanding job - I’m the primary caretaker.

Pros are I don’t feel done having children. I have embryos that I feel I owe the chance to exist (husband and I don’t agree on what to do with the embryos if we are done - he wants to store them, likely indefinitely, and I would prefer to donate them to an infertile couple.) I love babies and children and can’t picture my life without a young child in it. I also spend a lot of time volunteering with children in Cub Scouts and through running a local chess club. My siblings chose not to have kids so I don’t have any kids in my extended family I can help raise. I spend every free moment with my kids, always put them first, never have a break and I’m really happy to do it. This is what I wanted in life and this is what I got.