She isn’t a morning person

Hi everyone! This is my first post ever on Reddit but I am S-T-R-U-G-G-L-I-N-G!

I posted this to Facebook so I’m just copying and pasting what I wrote! For context, I am middle school teacher and I have to be at work by 7:30AM (super early, trust me, I know!) I am also a single mommy doing this all on my own.

“You know you’re back to work when you strategically get your child to bed by 7:30, wake her up with kisses, scratches and her favorite songs.... and she STILL fights you during your morning routine. From the clothes she was wearing to brushing her teeth... I am at a loss! No matter what I do, it’s always like this. Do I gave a 3 year old or 13 year old?! LOL! No but seriously.. I understand some people just don’t do mornings but I feel like I’m fighting an uphill battle. And as a teacher, I cannot afford to keep being late! Any advice? Anything helps! Happy Monday, everyone!”

As you can imagine, this has caused me to be late more times than I can count. Luckily, my school site has grown to be understanding but I know it’s unfair to my students. However, I don’t like rushing my daughter more than I already do. She deserves a good start to her day as well:

When I go on breaks from work (winter break just ended), I struggle the most. I know that’s due to a break in routine and structure but these waltzes of willpower happen even during our most monotonous weeks. Just looking for any support, words of encouragement or even a, “Hey, you’re doing alright,” LOL! Thanks everyone.

EDIT:
I would like to add, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows. I get very angry and shout by the time I’ve exhausted all options. Sometimes, it results in a swift spanking. I feel so bad after and apologize during our car ride to her daycare. I tend to over explain myself but I want her to understand my frustrations since it normally ends with her crying and saying that I’m rude and hurt her feelings ):

Signed,
A feeling hopeless Mommy