Question for trilingual families

matt11confused

Hi all! We have an almost 1-year-old baby and we are doing OPOL. My husband and I have basic knowledge of each other’s language but not enough to be conversational. We speak English to each other. We noticed that when we say words or phrases in the other parent’s language, baby finds it HILARIOUS. For example, I noticed him say ‘hi’ in my husband’s language, so I said it back in that language, and he was laughing so hard he was snorting. Or he said an approximation of ‘cat’ in my language, and my husband noticed and said the word for cat in my language. Baby was roaring with laughter. Of note, baby does not laugh when we repeat back words to him in our respective languages. What do you think this is about? What do y’all do when you notice baby speaking in the other parent’s language that you are not fluent in, especially as baby gets older? We were planning to do strict OPOL, but it’s so tempting to help baby out at this stage when he’s learning to say his first words.

@matt11confused Nothing wrong with having a bit of fun! Most likely he already understands that you are speaking a language that you normally don’t speak, and he finds it hilarious. If you want to do OPOL, then it’s better to stick to your own languages as speaking a language that you’re not fluent in isn’t really “helping out”. As for what you should do when the baby speaks the other parent’s language (to you, I presume?) is to speak your language back to them. Good luck!

@matt11confused My daughter found it hilarious as well when I tried speaking to her in my wife's language or if my wife tried to talk in my language. Now that she is older she tries to correct us.
But in general she prefers her mother's language and switches to mine when she has no other choice.

@matt11confused We have the same setup as you. Our kiddo is almost 3 and speaks all 3.