One or two (finances, real estate, health)?

ckoel

35F with 36M husband and almost 15 month old son. We rent a 2BR apartment in an NJ suburb close to where I work as a teacher. Husband is a senior software engineer who is currently laid off for the 3rd time in 3 years (yay startups). We are hoping he can land another remote position, as working remotely has been really helpful for childcare. We were able to keep our son home until he turned 13 months and now we pay $1750/mo for daycare (after a teacher discount). I like the daycare a lot.

I love being H’s mom but I also am (late diagnosed, high masking) autistic and have some chronic health issues that complicate things. H might be on the spectrum too but it’s too soon to tell. If my husband has to go back to work in person, I have to be OAD because I don’t think I can handle solo parenting regularly.

We were hoping to have one more child, but I wanted another year or two to give myself a chance to improve my health and fitness and to save money toward a house. I was told I had low AMH but was also able to get pregnant on the first try so I don’t know what to expect in terms of fertility. I’d be 36 or 37, which I think I’m okay with.

Within 45 mins commute of my school, a smallish home that doesn’t require major repairs, in a town with okay schools (4/10 on great schools, I’m not looking for miracles) is $500K+. Townhomes are $550K+. The monthly payment for that with current interest rates is around $5400. We could rent a home for $3000-$3500 but wouldn’t be able to save toward a home as quickly.