Homework Revolt (it’s me, I’m revolting, not my kid)

tert

My daughter just started PreK. She’s 4. This week they started sending her home with “homework.” Make a tree out of crap you find around house kind of stuff. Which we all know is homework for me, not her.

Here’s the thing. First, I’m fervently anti homework. There is no indication that homework improves academic performance at at. Children develop better when they have ample amounts of free creative play.

Second, I work my ASS off to provide for my child. It’s busy season at work and I’m likely to hit 70hrs this week. I have no family support l, I do this alone. And you want me to do homework?!?

Sorry, CHERYL, my child will show up clean and fed and will get a story at night, and you will NOT be getting a fucking tree made from found objects. What are you gonna do, FAIL HER?

Sorry, just feeling tired and salty tonight.

@tert I’m a teacher and that is absolutely ridiculous homework.

I would suggest sending a note or email that says something like “Thank you for the homework suggestions. We have our family routines that work for us so we won’t be participating.” You’re acknowledging the homework, but letting them know you won’t be doing their (crazy) activities.

@tang0 Exactly like homework shouldn’t really even be a thing until later in school anyway and even then homework should be very little. To have preschoolers doing homework is insane! My moms a preschool teacher and she just provides recommendations on how to help your child at home like to know their shapes and whatnot but one of those suggestions is also to read to your child which is awesome that you do every night. Crazy to have actual homework at 4 years old.