For first time parents, from a first time parent, 4 months down the line, part 2

rushingjohn

Part 1: For first time parents, from a first time parent, 4 months down the line

Part 3: For first time parents, from a first time parent, 4 months down the line

I had some more input that I didn't get a chance to mention.

CRYING

My wife has been able to identify the 5 different sounds. I'm still learning it.
Oprah special - 5 different sounds/cries babies make

GAS PAINS

There are gas drops you can give kids. Mylicon, Little Tummys, or the store brand are all amazingly effective. I stocked up at Shoprite when they had a sale.

The amazingly simple/obvious/stupid trick to giving any medicine to a baby is to put it in the baby's month, then quickly give them the pacifier. It seems obvious in hindsight, but not when the poor kid is crying.

For the first couple months we pretty much added Mylicon to every bottle.

Sunscreen

According to our pediatrician (YMMV), there's only one brand of sunscreen that you can use on a baby. You should still keep them out of the sun, but just in case, Blue Lizard Australian Sunscreen is safe for babies. I obviously linked to Amazon, but check your local drugstore. It's not as cheap as others though, so shop around.

NAPPING/SLEEPING

Don't try to ensure silence and darkness for the baby's sleep time. You will not always have this ideal, and unreasonable to try to maintain it. Kids will learn to nap through noises quite well. We often have the TV going, and when a nap does happy, she sleeps through it.

Also, swaddling is grand. You would think it's not great for a person to be so wrapped up, but they really sleep much better. We never could get our daughters hands to stay swaddled. If hands are free, make sure you cover them somehow. Those nails are super sharp and can cut up the baby's face.