Advice before buying my first woven wrap?

martineba

Hi!

TL DR: proficient newbie wondering if I should get a size 5 or 6, and asking for recommendations about favrics brands and places to buy.

I've been carrying with a borrowed wrap for the last 5 months or so.
It's a size 5 mokosh, pretty sure it's 100% cotton and quite thick - I don't really know, but I'd guess around 250 gsm maybe?

I've become quite proficient with tying a fwcc, but that's all I do - I tried a back carry a couple of times, and Robin's hip carry, but I need much more practice, and my baby doesn't really like it when I fuss around with the wrap while tying it, and she complains a lot.

Anyways, I really like carrying this way, it's far more comfortable than any of the other carriers we have/tried, and it's time to buy my own. So I have a couple of questions:
  1. I'm wondering about the size - should I get another size 5, since I am able to use it (albeit with short tails) or size up to a 6?
    Will a 5 limit me in the future with e.g. back carriers or when my baby grows? She's 7 mo atm, and I plan to keep on carrying her for at least a couple of years hopefully.
  2. Another thought about size is getting a shorter wrap, like a size 3 or something - since I like the option of taking it with me without the bulk.. but I'm not sure about the carries that can be done with it - are they more advanced? Less comfortable for longer periods?
    I suppose most people eventually have both a shirt and a long one?
  3. Regarding fabric - I tried a lighter weave one, and much preferred the thick one, it felt a lot more solid. However, it feels a little rough, and I'm wondering if it's the composition of the fabric, the thicker, or that different companies have different weaves and some are just softer than others..?
  4. What brands do you like? Are there places to buy secondhand internationally which are not eBay? (there's very little on there as far as I've seen)